06.05.2017 — 10.09.2017

Mark Tobey : Threading Light

Commissaire Debra Bricker Balken

Mark Tobey

Collection Peggy Guggenheim, Venise, Italie

Organisée par la Addison Gallery of American Art et la Phillips Academy (Andover, Massachusetts), cette exposition sera la première à présenter l’œuvre complète de Mark Tobey depuis quarante ans et donnera un aperçu supplémentaire de son œuvre fascinante et de sa réception compliquée et contradictoire aux États-Unis et à l’étranger.

Organisée par Debra Bricker Balken, l’exposition va présenter environ quatre vingt peintures de la fin des années 1920 jusqu’à ses dernières œuvres dans les années 1970 et sera accompagnée d’un catalogue publié en anglais et en italien. Coïncident avec la 57ème Biennale de Venise, l’exposition débutera à la Collection Peggy Guggenheim et sera ensuite présentée à la Addison Gallery of American Art.

Pour cette exposition, la galerie prête deux œuvres de Mark Tobey « Sumi », 1957 et «  Escape from Static », 1968. Suite à son voyage aux Etats-Unis en 1945, Jeanne Bucher revient avec quelques œuvres de l’artiste américain qu’elle souhaite présenter à Paris, mais la maladie l’emporte en 1946. Dix années plus tard, Jean-François Jaeger organise sa première exposition en Europe, avec la coopération de la Willard Gallery de New York.

Collection Peggy Guggenheim

704 Dorsoduro
30123 Venise – Italie

T +41 24 05 411
www.guggenheim-venice.it

horaire d'ouverture

Tous les jours de 10 h à 18 h
Fermé le mardi

06.05.2017 — 10.09.2017

Mark Tobey : Threading Light

Curator Debra Bricker Balken

Mark Tobey

Peggy Guggenheim Collection, Venice, Italy

Organized by the Addison Gallery of American Art, Phillips Academy, Andover, Massachusetts, it will be the first comprehensive exhibition of Mark Tobey’s distinctive and original work in more than forty years and will provide further insight into his intriguing oeuvre and its complicated and contradictory receptions in the United States and abroad.

Curated by Debra Bricker Balken, the exhibition will include approximately eighty paintings from the late 1920s until his last works of the 1970s and will be accompanied by a catalogue published in English and Italian editions. Coinciding with the 57th Venice Biennale the exhibition will debut at the Peggy Guggenheim Collection and then be presented at the Addison Gallery of American Art.

For the exhibition, the gallery lends two works by Mark Tobey, ” Sumi “, 1957 and ”  Escape from Static “, 1968. After her trip to the United States in 1945, Jeanne Bucher returned with several works of the American artist which she wished to show in Paris, but illness took her life on 1946. Ten years later, Jean-François Jaeger organized his first exhibition in Europe, with the cooperation of the Willard Gallery in New York.

Peggy Guggenheim Collection

704 Dorsoduro
30123 Venice – Italy

T +41 24 05 411
www.guggenheim-venice.it

opening hours

Everyday from 10 am to 6 pm
Closed on tuesday